Resource Person > Mr. Dissanayake Wasantha Tikiri Bandara

Mr. Dissanayake Wasantha Tikiri Bandara obtained basic degree in biological science with second class upper division honest, and also won the Coomaraswami Prize awarded to the best biological science student in 1985. He has two master degrees in Forestry, and obtained his second master degree from the Wageningen Agricultural University of the Netherlands with the specialization Social Forestry.  

Now he works as the Additional Secretary in-charge of Environment Policy and Planning, he is one of the senior most government officials in the Ministry of Mahaweli Development & Environment of Sri Lanka with more than 30 years working experience in the environment sector.

Mr. Dissanayake Wasantha Tikiri Bandara served in the forestry sector for over two decades in different capacities covering several geographical areas in Sri Lanka. After moving into the headquarters of the Forest Department and serving there two years as the Conservator of Forests (Planning & Monitoring) he was promoted to the Ministry to the current post in 2016. During his career, he have participated in number of overseas trainings and international events. Furthermore, he have provided his services to different international organizations such as AUSAID, IUCN, UNDP, and UNCBD.

As the Additional Secretary (Environment Policy and Planning) Mr. Dissanayake Wasantha Tikiri Bandara has an overall supervision on matters related to environmental policies, including policy reforms and development of new environment related policies for Sri Lanka. In addition, he is involved in planning, designing, negotiating, and implementing different environment related projects and programs under the Ministry. He is entrusted to supervise and guide five major divisions of the Ministry, namely Biodiversity Secretariat, Climate Change Secretariat, Environment Pollution Control & Chemical Management Division, and Environment Planning & Economics Division. Except the regular duties, he also holds some international and national portfolios:

  • Board Member – APFNet
  • Governing Board Member – Specific International Program of the Minamata Convention
  • Panel member – Voluntary Peer Review Panel of UNCBD
  • National Committee Member – IUCN Sri Lanka
  • Board Member – Atomic Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Board Member – National Cleaner Production Center
  • Acting Chairman – Marine Environment Protection Authority of Sri Lanka

Return to Top